Throne

 

Don’t be surprised
When you find yourself in a coma
Blinded and caught up in you
Walked out in the street and got run over
Dropping names
Doesn’t bring any fame
Can’t remember me
We’ve known each other since we were young
Yet my secrets slip right off your tongue
Call yourself grounded
Six-pack weighing you down
Keeping you well rounded
It’s easier than seeing real value
Addicted to chaos
Or just quit trying
Swallowed up by your own shadow
Hiding in the corner crying
Consumed by terror
Begging no one sees
You made a fatal error
Slipped and fell off your throne
Can’t stand to know I’ve grown
Sweet memory of your past
When you were independent and strong
I know it’s wrong
But I can’t stop laughing
I’m both good and evil
You see yourself in me
Dear Stan
I’m your biggest fan

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Throne

    1. Thanks for the compliment. An over-inflated sense of self won’t be a problem for me, I’m sure of that. This was directed at another person (former friend), with a bit of sarcasm thrown in for good measure.

      Like

Leave a Reply

