Ending

Too much time has passed
I held a place in my heart for you
Picked away at the scab to keep it open
Time and tears prove strong
It’s beginning to scar over
The ache transforming to anger

Too much time has passed
The connection that held us together is stretched thin
Beginning to fray and weaken
My grasp is loosening
I can’t see us anymore
Only me broken and tired

Too much time has passed
I gave it to you with trust and truth
Believing you would come to your senses
Recognize the power of memories
The secret pact to have each other’s back
Washed away in sadness and rage

Too much time has passed
I told you my door and heart would always be open
But it’s getting cold and I have lost precious blood
I’m in danger and at risk of falling
I have to lock up and warm myself
Surrounded by those who know how to do love right

Too much time has passed
As I dusted empty furniture and empty promises
Engaged in a one sided conversation with you
The cosmos reached out and snagged a guitar string
Striking the saddest note
It was the sound of our ending

9 thoughts on “Ending

Leave a Reply

