Numb

I’m not sure that this feeling can be described as numb. Maybe I just haven’t gotten there yet, or it’s possible that I have passed it up, after all, numb means that you can’t feel anything. So how am I to know? Let’s get on with the show. I am quite uncomfortable, inside and outside boiling, ready to erupt. Several maggots, or maybe more, have made their way into my rotting spaces, an internal uproar, finishing off what’s left. It’s familiar and slightly humorous. That fleeting glimpse, a tease, a bad joke, here is your hope, I hope you choke. The answers are blurry and far from easy. The boiling, the maggots, the glimpse, I’m getting queasy. Losing my grip on the controls is frightening. Comfortably numb sounds inviting.

“Comfortably Numb”
Pink Floyd


Hello,
Is there anybody in there?
Just nod if you can hear me.
Is there anyone at home?

Come on now
I hear you’re feeling down
Well, I can ease your pain
And get you on your feet again

Relax
I’ll need some information first
Just the basic facts
Can you show me where it hurts?

There is no pain, you are receding
A distant ship smoke on the horizon
You are only coming through in waves
Your lips move but I can’t hear what you’re saying
When I was a child I had a fever
My hands felt just like two balloons
Now I’ve got that feeling once again
I can’t explain, you would not understand
This is not how I am
I have become comfortably numb

I have become comfortably numb

O.K.
Just a little pin prick
There’ll be no more aaaaaaaah!
But you may feel a little sick

Can you stand up?
I do believe it’s working, good
That’ll keep you going through the show
Come on, it’s time to go.

There is no pain you are receding
A distant ship smoke on the horizon
You are only coming through in waves
Your lips move but I can’t hear what you’re saying
When I was a child
I caught a fleeting glimpse
Out of the corner of my eye
I turned to look but it was gone
I cannot put my finger on it now
The child is grown
The dream is gone
I have become comfortably numb.

13 thoughts on “Numb

  1. Your post on Numb is spot on. I went through a neurotic phase seeing or feeling (but not really) numb all over the place. But it wasn’t Pink Floyd, that unintentionally, perpetuate the imagined ruse, but rather it was Linkin Park’s ‘Numb’ that lit the fuse.

    I’ve become so numb, I can’t feel you there
    Become so tired, so much more aware
    By becoming this all I want to do
    Is be more like me and be less like you

    As empowering as music can be, with equal force it is also carries an invasive quality. I listened to Linkin Park nearly every day, for years. Until – out of the blue – a young man about 15 years my junior said “How can use listen to them, their lyrics are so depressing.” A coincidence? Snapped from a trance? or at last I listened to the lyrics as oppose to just screaming along the words. And I’ll be damn if he wasn’t right. Still on my short list of all time favorite recording artists, but one or two songs in a row, broken up my Linkin Park-less months, is all that I can stand of them or the overwhelming word of numb.

    Thank you for this topic and allowing me to rant. Always a pleasant when a writer composes words for thoughts, we thought made no sense.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love that song too and you’re right… sometimes we get too sucked in to the more depressing kind of songs (and books and movies for me too). I think at times, it helps me feel less alone, but it can also be dangerous if we let it keep us down. I just find it interesting how certain songs seem to come along at a time when I am feeling something that relates to the lyrics, like it’s trying to tell me something. I know that right now I am so overwhelmed with contradictions and emotions and all kinds of crap, and then this song showed up today and I just thought, yeah, numb, that’s what I want right now. But I also know it’s a temporary state. Thanks for sharing your thoughts too 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I have seen it! And no worries, I’m okay. Lot of stuff happening but I’m hanging in there. Thanks for the reminder, I am having a simultaneous comment discussion about Seinfeld so I’m getting some laughs. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

