Perfume

Memories waft in and out of the here and now and past and before.

Mingling in the air, she breathes and speaks of dreams and nightmares.

Life woven together from bits and pieces a faint reminder.

Photographs and faces are faded and wrinkled from time and worry.

Forehead kisses soft and sweet, once received now given and forgotten.

Words burned forever lost in unknown, others sit on the tip of her tongue.

Meeting tears as they make their way through the creases of her cheeks.

Perfume lingers in the fabric of my mind as I leave her behind.

Doubling over in desperation, my heart is broken again by the one who never chose me.

 

 

15 thoughts on “Perfume

  1. Been reading your pots and so much reminds me of the life I am trying to leave and the new one I am struggling to re-build, you words give me much hope and comfort through the sadness and the tears you so generously share.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Perfume

Leave a Reply

