Futility

Pull yourself together they tell me

Tilting my head slightly

Secretly afraid it will detach completely

How embarrassing watching it roll

I’m not sure which parts to grab

Let alone how to reattach them

I’m already floating around

A failed attempt to stay grounded

I thought I looked quite rounded

Now I am utterly astounded

I guess I was only fooling myself

By walking around pretending

My world and yours is not ending

Keep in mind I don’t know where to start

I’ve tried putting myself together before

All prior efforts proving futile

My contents splayed all over the floor

Resembling lambs after the slaughter

Try using your hands to gather water

4 thoughts on “Futility

Leave a Reply

