Love Letters

A few simple words
Jotted down in a hurry

Unaware of the power
Upon my broken heart

How does he know
The right words to say

That waking in the morn
Is equal to rising from grave

Pain speaks first
Sleep cemented my bones
I can’t possibly keep pace

Fear voices out
Don’t go out there
It’s haunted

Desolation rings in
There’s nothing for you
Among the living

At the mercy of evil puppeteer
Untangling the strings
Left knotted from sleep

Dragged through motions
To begin the play
Unsure the direction
Of the threatening day

I look broken
A corpse forsaken
Something thrown away

Lumbering down stairs
Hesitant the strings
Will snag the woodwork
And trip me again

Directed through murk
Scenes commonly clear
Coalesce to a blur

Steered towards light
A white paper
Highlights the obscure

A few simple words
I hope to decipher

How does he know
The right words to say

You’re beautiful
I love you so much
Rest easy today
My darling
My sweetheart
XOXOXOXOXO
I love you my dear
A few simple words

I rub off the sleep
Blink, blink, blink
The words become clear

He loves me
He loves me
He loves me

Unaware the enormity
Of those few simple words

I can open my eyes
I can open my heart
I can move my bones
I can calm the fear
I can find the something
Waiting for me here

With scissors in hand
I sever the strings
And make my own way

My love gave me strength
With a few simple words

He loves me
He loves me
He loves me

9 thoughts on “Love Letters

Leave a Reply

