I Want the Days Back

I want the days back

 

The days that were pure

When happiness was simple and clear

When nothing else mattered

No darkness could find its way

Rainbows and sunshine

Too bright for any thing but light

Days filled with babies

Everything shining brand new

Cuddles and gentle kisses

Tickles and raspberries

Crayons and glue

Bubbles and sidewalk chalk

Dress up and forts

Music and dancing

Mud pies and puddles

Hide and seek in sunflower trees

Bare-naked skips through waterfall drops

Bedtime stories and snuggles

Giggles and belly laughs

Sweet angels protected me

With their unrelenting bliss

Keeping away the darkness

That kept knocking at my door.

 

I want the days back

 

Those effortless and merry days

They needed to stay

Keep time from coming for me

Those cherished moments

Still holding strong in heart and soul

Proving memory insufficient

For protection from seasons

Letting in that darkness

That had been waiting outside

For a chance to slip in

And ransack my mind

 

I want the days back

 

In a blink of an eye

Time took me and the days

And told me I can’t stay

My respite is over

Now I must pay

For what I will never know

But the cost is clear

The days I want back

No you can’t have those my dear

Time took the angels too

They must grow up

And make their own days

Please I beg there is still glitter

Left behind in the cracks

 

I want the days back

 

What I was given in replacement

Is missing incessant joy

A blanket of sadness

A pile of broken toys

Irreparable damage from

Good karma gone bad

I want the days to go away

And I long for sleep

The only departure

From pain too deep

Tossed around like a leaf

Caught in a tornado eternal

Contradictions kick back

Because I dread the night

Reminding me of it’s associate

Obliged wakefulness

Each time in pure fear

A slap in the face

Another day

Wishing for sleep

 

I want the days back

9 thoughts on “I Want the Days Back

  1. Wow, that was incredibly powerful! As well as sad and emotional. I felt every single line. My favorite are

    “Please I beg there is still glitter

    Left behind in the cracks”. Maybe because I used to be fascinated with glitter in the sense that it represented everything that was good in the world to me. But somehow I can’t get that feeling back lately…

    Thank you for writing this post. Although it’s incredibly sad, it made me smile too because I can tell there are other people out there struggling with similar issues. That makes the journey less lonely.

    And I think you are very much a writer/poet! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much. I’m so glad you were touched by this poem. The line about the glitter is meant just as you stated… I honestly still do find glitter and it takes me right back to those times when my children were little and everything was so happy and easy. And yes, a feeling that is hard to get back. I’m finding so many people to connect with here. Again, thank you for your your kind words. ❀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, but sorry to make you sad. I’m glad that you can relate… those days were so easy, they bring me joy. The transition to becoming and ’empty nester’ has been a challenge for sure. ❀ Thank you for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m not an empty nester…but I lost my family so I relate on that level. You never have to apologise for creating an emotional response in a reader…that shows how descriptively well written it is, if you can transport the reader on an emotional journey. Reading other blogs can help us process our own experiences if we connect with the writing. It’s a positive 😊

        Liked by 1 person

          1. I’m so pleased πŸ™‚ If i think complimentary things I say them. It doesn’t matter if it’s the first post of a blogger I’ve read or the 50th…if I like it I say. So I’m really happy that it made you feel encouraged 😊❀

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

